Home » Messi, Ronaldo and Van Dijk are the Finalist for FIFA POTY Award

Messi, Ronaldo and Van Dijk are the Finalist for FIFA POTY Award


On Monday, Messi, Ronaldo and Van Dijk were revealed as finalists for The Best FIFA Men’s Player award. Last week,Van Dijk, the Liverpool defender beat out his decorated peers in the race for UEFA’s player of the year prize. On the side of women, American World Cup champions Alex Morgan, Megan Rapinoe and England star Lucy Bronze are in contention. The FIFA awards that will be presented on Sept. 23 in Milan are eight.
Here is a complete list of finalists:

Best Men’s Player

  • Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)
  • Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool and the Netherlands)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus and Portugal)

Best Women’s Player

  • Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride and the United States)
  • Lucy Bronze (Lyon and England)
  • Megan Rapinoe (Reign FC and the United States)

Best Men’s Coach

  • Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)
  • Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham)
  • Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)

Best Women’s Coach

  • Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands women’s national team)
  • Jill Ellis (United States women’s national team)
  • Phil Neville (England women’s national team)

FIFA Fan Award

Netherlands fans at the Women’s World Cup

  • Justo Sanchez (Uruguay)
  • Silvia Grecco (Brazil)

Best Men’s Goalkeeper

  • Ederson (Manchester City and Brazil)
  • Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona and Germany)
  • Alisson (Liverpool and Brazil)

Best Women’s Goalkeeper

  • Sari van Veenendaal (Atletico Madrid and the Netherlands)
  • Christiane Endler (Paris Saint-Germain and Chile)
  • Hedvig Lindahl (Wolfsburg and Sweden)

Puskas Award

  • Daniel Zsori: Debrecen vs. Ferencvaros (Feb. 16, 2019)
  • Lionel Messi: Real Betis vs. Barcelona (March 17, 2019)
  • Juan Fernando Quintero: River Plate vs. Racing Club (Feb. 10, 2019)

Since 2016, FIFA has presented The Best awards and are a rebranding of the FIFA World Player of the Year festivities, which were held from 2010 to 2015 as part of a merger with the Ballon d’Or trophy.

Source Link: https://www.msn.com/en-us/sports/soccer/van-dijk-messi-ronaldo-named-finalists-for-fifa-poty-award/ar-AAGHtaj#page=2

About the author

Isaac Munga

Isaac Munga

Isaac Munga is a professional journalist who has worked as sports reporter, sports tech writer, daily journalist, copyeditor of sports, designer of sports section, sports editor, a senior sports writer and in sports technology. He began his sports writing career in 2014, and he covers Baseball, Basketball, Cricket, Football, Hockey, and WWE. Aside from working with award-winning brands in Africa, Europe, and the USA, his work has featured in major publications. He aims to take a humorous and light-hearted approach to the often all-too-serious world of sports media. He likes sharing with sports’ fans all of the top news and moments that the beautiful games bestow to the world.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment